May Day in Padstow 2012

Ever since I was little, I’ve wanted to go to the May Day celebrations in Padstow and see the famous ‘Obby ‘Oss. We rented a house in Duke Street several times when I was a child but it never coincided with May Day.

Anyway, I got my wish last year. We were staying in St Just in Penwith and it had lashed down from the moment we arrived until Tuesday morning – May Day – which was a glorious sunny day.

It was worth waiting all those years to see! It’s one of the oldest festivals in Europe and old Padstonians from around the world come back to celebrate.

This colourful maypole was in the square at the top of the town where a large crowd was gathered. I even spotted a famous face – Rick Stein no less.

May Day celebrations, Padstow, 2012

I’ve been to Padstow many times but never have I seen it looking so glorious. Colourful flags zig zagged from building to building across every street.

May Day celebrations, Padstow, 2012

All the boats in the harbour were dressed for the occasion too.

Harbour again


The Golden Lion in Lanadwell Street dates back to the 14th century and is the stable for the Old ‘Obby ‘Oss.

May Day celebrations, Padstow, 2012

Staffy and friend taking a quiet moment away from the hustle and bustle to contemplate.

May Day celebrations, Padstow, 2012

“Who you looking at then?”

May Day celebrations, Padstow, 2012


The Cross House Hotel at the top of Duke Street. I used to look at this lovely building from the bedroom of the cottage we rented when I was about five or six. I thought it was so pretty! I’ll even forgive them for the misplaced apostrophe in their printed sign announcing ‘Afternoon Tea’s’…

May Day celebrations, Padstow, 2012


This accordion player has such a characterful face – he really stood out in the crowd of people.

May Day celebrations, Padstow, 2012


I couldn’t believe our luck with the spot we’d chosen. The Red ‘Oss stopped right in front of us, and swirled and twirled, pranced and danced.

May Day celebrations, Padstow, 2012

May Day celebrations, Padstow, 2012

Flags fluttering along Duke Street

May Day celebrations, Padstow, 2012


I really enjoyed my first experience of May Day in Padstow and how I wish I could be there this year. I hope the weather is as lovely as it was last year!

Leave a Reply

